Childhood Apraxia of Speech

Teaching

Note to self: You can plan for the future, but the Dear Lord may have something else in mind. Keep faith and stay strong.

I remind myself of this several times a day, typically during those times when I allow my thoughts to get the best of me. 

Before CAS entered our lives I had plans. To many they may not seem exciting, but to me, my plans were special.  In 2008, (after I had already earned a 4 year degree) I finally figured out what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to be a school teacher and by the fall semester of 2008 I was (again) a full time college student. 

Returning to school was one of the best decisions I ever made and I was (and still am) determined to have the career I’ve always dreamed about. However, I find myself in a life I never imagined. 

It isn’t a bad life at all, just one I’ve never imagined. “Stay at Home Mom” was a job title I never looked for, but one I absolutely love. Like many moms, I wear many hats. Chauffeur, cook, house cleaner, but most importantly I’m the mom of two beautiful children. 

On days when I allow my thoughts to wander and think of the many plans I had for myself, I remember I have a very important job. In my home I am a teacher. My plans have changed and I am currently not teaching in a classroom, but I teach all day long. I create lessons for my daughter. We work together to overcome the challenges she faces with CAS. I teach her techniques to communicate. Everyday we work together, learn from each other.

Yes, my plans have changed and it is my hope to one day teach in a classroom. For now, I have one important lesson to teach, I have to teach my daughter to talk. I have to teach her to find her voice. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

